Topic: catch and carry rules


whitetail    -- 06-24-2008 @ 7:11 PM
  Could you please explain the rule for OBR and NFHS.
  


Gary_Embrey    -- 06-24-2008 @ 8:24 PM
  OBR and NFHS treat this situation differently. (another of the many rule differences)

Short answer:
Under OBR, after making a legal catch, the fielder has to FALL into the stand or dugout (or dead ball area) for the ball to become dead.  Runners are awarded ONE base. (OBR 7.04c)
Under NFHS, after making a legal catch, if the fielder STEPS with both feet or falls into dead ball area, the ball becomes dead. Runners are awarded ONE base. (NFHS 8-3-d)

I guess you can say it's "catch and fall" under OBR, and a "catch and carry" under NFHS.

Gary


whitetail    -- 06-26-2008 @ 5:18 AM
  Ok, what is required for a legal catch? Both OBR and NFHS.  


Jim_Thompson    -- 06-26-2008 @ 8:27 AM
  Both codes define a as the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight. The definitions in both codes are a bit different but the above is a simple explanation. NFHS Rule 2-9-1; OBR Rule 2.00-Definitions

Jim


DelawareBlue    -- 06-26-2008 @ 11:43 AM
  Both codes define a as the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight.

...and a voluntary release.

Bill


whitetail    -- 06-26-2008 @ 3:25 PM
  Is it according to player's feet being in play or is it according to where the ball is when it is caught?
Ok let's say a player dives for a ball, catches it in play after he leaves his feet and first touches the ground out of play. Is it the umpires judjment if he caught the ball while he was still in play. If the player is straddling the line when the catch is made is it a matter of where the ball was when caught? Is this the same for OBR and NFHS?


Jim_Thompson    -- 06-26-2008 @ 5:41 PM
  It's the same for NFHS and OBR. If the player is on fair ground when he makes a catch, the position of the ball does not matter. For example, you often see a player reach into the stands and catch a ball over the stands and in foul territory.

Jim


whitetail    -- 06-27-2008 @ 5:09 PM
  So do you mean he has to have his feet down in the live ball area, as in (leaning over the stands)? According to Gary Embry NFHS rule it's a good catch if a player only has one foot in when making the catch, it says he's considered out of play only after both feet are out.

This message was edited by whitetail on 6-27-08 @ 5:16 PM


mstaylor    -- 06-27-2008 @ 5:57 PM
  Think of it this way. You have a diving catch. The fielder is in live ball when he leaves his feet but lands in dead ball. It doesn't matter whether the ball was fair, foul or over dead ball when he catchs it. It only matters that the fielder was in live ball when left his feet.

Michael S. Taylor


whitetail    -- 06-27-2008 @ 8:51 PM
  Thanks, mstaylor that's the answer I was looking for now is it the same for both OBR and NFHS?  


Jim_Thompson    -- 06-27-2008 @ 9:14 PM
  Same for both.

Jim


Baseball Discussion Group : http://www.baseball-excellence.com/sbaseballforums/
Topic: http://www.baseball-excellence.com/sbaseballforums//viewmessages.cfm?Forum=2&Topic=11613