Topic: Intentionally dropped fly ball


yankeesfan    -- 01-05-2014 @ 8:50 PM
  If a outfielder intentionally let's a fly ball drop with
runners on base, trying to entice a double play, is there
a rule infraction? How about an infielder who slaps a
line drive to the ground with runners on base for the
same intent? Thank you.


Jim_Thompson    -- 01-05-2014 @ 9:08 PM
  No infraction and the ball is live IF the outfielder does not touch the ball. When the infielder hits the ball and intentionally drops it, the ball is dead and the batter is out.

Jim


yankeesfan    -- 01-05-2014 @ 9:21 PM
  Thank you, Jim. I really appreciate your time and
response. Have a happy new year.


yankeesfan    -- 01-05-2014 @ 9:23 PM
  One more thing, Jim. If the outfielder touches it, is it
then an error and live ball?


Jim_Thompson    -- 01-06-2014 @ 8:19 AM
  If he intentionally drops the ball, the batter is out and the ball is dead. it would not be an error but scored as a fly out to the fielder

Jim


yankeesfan    -- 01-06-2014 @ 5:27 PM
  Thanks again, Jim.


VTHokieUmp    -- 01-07-2014 @ 9:22 AM
  Unless I'm mistaken, the rule on intentionally dropped line drives
and fly balls applies to infielders (which would include outfielders
playing at or near an infield position). At least under the OBR.

If an outfielder intentionally drops a ball in the outfield, the ball
remains live and in play. The theory is that it should be difficult
for the defense to pull off a double play on a ball dropped in the
outfield.

Bill

This message was edited by VTHokieUmp on 1-7-14 @ 9:24 AM


Jim_Thompson    -- 01-07-2014 @ 10:26 AM
  Bill's correct. I aasumed (bad idea) that the post dealt with an outfielder playing in close to infield. Thanks Bill!

Jim


VTHokieUmp    -- 01-07-2014 @ 2:37 PM
  One more thing, Jim. If the outfielder touches it, is it then an error and live ball?

To answer that question directly, it depends.  If the official scorer judges that the ball should have been caught and no one is retired during the play before reaching their next advance base, then an error would be charged.

If the ball is intentionally dropped by the outfielder but the defense is able to record an out on a runner before he reaches his next base, then no error would be charged and the batter would be deemed to have reached base by a fielder's choice.  

Example:  Runner on first base and center fielder intentionally drops a fly ball thinking he might be able to get a double play on a slow footed batter.  F8 throws the ball to F4 to force out R1 advancing to second but the batter-runner reaches first base safely.  No error is charged because R1 was retired before reaching second and the batter reaches base on a fielder's choice.


Bill


Baseball Discussion Group : http://www.baseball-excellence.com/sbaseballforums/
Topic: http://www.baseball-excellence.com/sbaseballforums//viewmessages.cfm?Forum=2&Topic=14068