Member
Posts:
Joined: Oct 2013
|
Nope. The third out was made by the batter/runner before he reached first base. Even though the appeal was after the runner crossed the plate, it's the nature of the batter's out that matters. From the OBR 4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES. Rule 4.09 Comment: APPROVED RULING: No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base. Example: One out, Jones on second, Smith on first. The batter, Brown, hits safely. Jones scores. Smith is out on the throw to the plate. Two outs. But Brown missed first base. The ball is thrown to first, an appeal is made, and Brown is out. Three outs. Since Jones crossed the plate during a play in which the third out was made by the batter-runner before he touched first base, Jones’ run does not count. Bill
This message was edited by VTHokieUmp on 8-19-14 @ 8:26 PM
|