Joined: Oct 2013
Nope. The third out was made by the batter/runner
before he reached first base. Even though the appeal
was after the runner crossed the plate, it's the nature
of the batter's out that matters.
From the OBR
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
Rule 4.09 Comment: APPROVED RULING: No run shall score
during a play in which the third out is made by the
batter-runner before he touches first base. Example:
One out, Jones on second, Smith on first. The batter,
Brown, hits safely. Jones scores. Smith is out on the
throw to the plate. Two outs. But Brown missed first
base. The ball is thrown to first, an appeal is made,
and Brown is out. Three outs. Since Jones crossed the
plate during a play in which the third out was made by
the batter-runner before he touched first base, Jones’
run does not count.
This message was edited by VTHokieUmp on 8-19-14 @ 8:26 PM