Build a baseball team web site
Baseball Forums
Archive Forums
Baseball free tip of the week
Free baseball report
Baseball store
Baseball testimonials
Baseball instructions
Recommended baseball links




Baseball Discussion Group / Ask The Umpire / Interference penalty
login
join
search

moderated by BobByrd  Reply to Discussion | New Discussion | Subscribe << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Interference penalty

 subscribe to  this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

fishgriff
08-26-2014 @ 1:59 AM                          
reply
profile
send p.m.
Member
Posts:
Joined: May 2004
          
14U Runners on 2nd and 3rd with one out -runner on second runs into the shortstop coming in for a grounder, interference is called by my partner. The runner is called out, runner on 3rd returned to 3rd and the batter placed at first. I went out and pointed out the  batter should be called out too and that would be the third out. He works collegiate ball so I defer to his penalty. WHat If there were no outs would the runner on 3rd be called out making that the 2nd out.
Thanks

VTHokieUmp
08-26-2014 @ 7:34 AM                          
reply
profile
send p.m.
Member
Posts:
Joined: Oct 2013
          
The only way to get two outs for this type of interference is if you
judge the runner's action intentional and he intended to break up
a double play. That doesn't sound like what happened in your
play. For simple interference like this, the ball is immediately dead,    
the runner is out for his interference, the batter is awarded first
base, and all other runners return to their TOP base unless forced
to advance by virtue of the batter being awarded first base.

Sounds like your partner got it right to me.

Bill



Baseball Discussion Group Home | Back to Baseball Excellence

Copyright © 2021 - Baseball-excellence.com